List of Sahitya Akademi Award Winners For All Languages

The Sahitya Academy Award is a national level award which is given in all languages recognized by the academy. The full details of the academy & award are detailed below-

Name of Award: Sahitya Akademi Award OR साहित्य अकादमी पुरस्कार

Award Purpose: It is given to writers which have performed outstanding work in literature, in several languages recognized by Sahitya Akademi. The languages cover the each section of India- North, South, East (7 sisters), Central and West India. The writers of each language are awarded every year.  This way the promotion of excellence is done among writers and the contribution of writer is brought in front of public.

Throughout the year, the process is open to select the awardees.

Award Type: National

Total  Languages: 24 including English & Rajasthan

What Award Constitutes: Plaque + Cash Price of Rs. 10K

Establishment Year: 12th March, 1954

Plaque Was Designed by: Satyajit Ray

About Sahitya Akademi: It is known as India’s National Academy of Letters. This idea had been originally generated by British Government before independence. But within a proposal, after independence India has pursued the National Academy of Letters. From then, till today the akademi is well functional and it leaves no opportunity to honor the writers with great talent.

Head Office of Sahitya Akademi: Rabindra Bahvan, 35, Forezeshah Road, New Delhi

There are several regional offices of the academy in the country.

Following are the several languages in which Sahitya Akademi award is given to best writers in country. For the respective language, the year wise list of winners is mentioned in form of table.

Assamese Bengali Bodo Dogri English
Gujarati Hindi Kannada Kashmiri Konkani
Malayalam Manipuri Marathi Nepali Punjabi
Rajasthani Sanskrit Tamil Telugu Sindhi

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.