List of Prime Ministers of India in Hindi/English Till Date

India, the world’s largest democracy, has had a dynamic and diverse array of leaders who have held the position of Prime Minister. The Prime Minister of India is the head of government and plays a crucial role in shaping the nation’s policies and leading the executive branch. This article provides an overview of the distinguished individuals who have served as India’s Prime Ministers and their contributions to the nation’s progress and the list of Prime Ministers of India.

List of Prime Minister of India in Hindi

List of Prime Minister of India in Hindi/ हिंदी में भारत के प्रधानमंत्री की सूची

क्रमांक नाम जन्मतिथि इस अवधि से इस अवधि तक
1 जवाहर लाल नेहरू 14-Nov-1889 15-Aug-1947 27-May-1964
2 Gulzarilal नंदा 4 July 1898 27-May-1964 9 June 1964 *
3 लाल बहादुर शास्त्री 02-Oct-1904 09-Jun-1964 11-Jan-1966
Gulzarilal नंदा 4-July-1898 11-Jan-1966 24 January 1966 *
4 इंदिरा गांधी 19-Nov-1917 24-Jan-1966 24-Mar-1977
5 मोरारजी देसाई 29-Feb-1996 24-Mar-1977 28-Jul-1979
6 चरण सिंह 23-Dec-1902 28-Jul-1979 14-Jan-1980
इंदिरा गांधी 19-Nov-1917 14-Jan-1980 31-Oct-1984
7 राजीव गांधी 20-Aug-1944 31-Oct-1984 02-Dec-1989
8 विश्वनाथ प्रताप सिंह 25-Jun-1931 02-Dec-1989 10-Nov-1990
9 चंद्रशेखर 01-Jul-1927 10-Nov-1990 21-Jun-1991
10 पी वी नरसिंह राव 28-Jun-1921 21-Jun-1991 16-May-1996
11 अटल बिहारी वाजपेयी 25-Dec-1924 16-May-1996 01-Jun-1996
12 एच डी देवगौड़ा 18-May-1933 01-Jun-1996 21-Apr-1997
13 इंद्र कुमार गुजराल 04-Dec-1919 21-Apr-1997 19-Mar-1998
अटल बिहारी वाजपेयी 25-Dec-1924 19-Mar-1998 22-May-2004
14 डॉ मनमोहन सिंह 26-Sep-1932 22-May-2004 25-May-2014
15 नरेंद्र मोदी 17-Sep-1950 26-May 2014 Present

List of Prime Minister in English

Sr. No Name Date of Birth Period From Period To
1 Jawahar Lal Nehru 14-Nov-1889 15-Aug-1947 27-May-1964
2 Gulzarilal Nanda 4 July 1898 27-May-1964 9 June 1964 *
3 Lal Bahadur Shastri 02-Oct-1904 09-Jun-1964 11-Jan-1966
Gulzarilal Nanda 4-July-1898 11-Jan-1966 24 January 1966 *
4 Indira Gandhi 19-Nov-1917 24-Jan-1966 24-Mar-1977
5 Morarji Desai 29-Feb-1996 24-Mar-1977 28-Jul-1979
6 Charan Singh 23-Dec-1902 28-Jul-1979 14-Jan-1980
Indira Gandhi 19-Nov-1917 14-Jan-1980 31-Oct-1984
7 Rajiv Gandhi 20-Aug-1944 31-Oct-1984 02-Dec-1989
8 Vishwanath Pratap Singh 25-Jun-1931 02-Dec-1989 10-Nov-1990
9 Chandra Shekhar 01-Jul-1927 10-Nov-1990 21-Jun-1991
10 P. V. Narasimha Rao 28-Jun-1921 21-Jun-1991 16-May-1996
11 Atal Bihari Vajpayee 25-Dec-1924 16-May-1996 01-Jun-1996
12 H. D. Deve Gowda 18-May-1933 01-Jun-1996 21-Apr-1997
13 Inder Kumar Gujral 04-Dec-1919 21-Apr-1997 19-Mar-1998
Atal Bihari Vajpayee 25-Dec-1924 19-Mar-1998 22-May-2004
14 Dr. Manmohan Singh 26-Sep-1932 22-May-2004 25-May-2014
15 Narendra Modi 17-Sep-1950 26-May 2014 Present

Brief about Prime Ministers of India

Jawaharlal Nehru

One of the towering figures in India’s independence movement, Jawaharlal Nehru became India’s first Prime Minister in 1947. Born into a prominent political family, Nehru played a crucial role in shaping the country’s early years. His leadership saw the formulation of key policies and initiatives, including the non-aligned movement, the establishment of democratic institutions, and the initiation of economic planning.

Indira Gandhi

The only female Prime Minister of India to date, Indira Gandhi was a force to be reckoned with. Her political career spanned several decades, marked by bold decisions and controversy. Indira Gandhi implemented significant reforms, focusing on nationalization, poverty alleviation, and the empowerment of marginalized sections of society. However, her tenure was also marred by the imposition of the state of emergency, which led to widespread protests and civil liberties being curtailed.

Rajiv Gandhi

Following the tragic assassination of his mother, Indira Gandhi, Rajiv Gandhi stepped into the role of Prime Minister. He focused on modernizing India’s economy and spearheaded initiatives such as the information technology revolution. Rajiv Gandhi’s leadership saw advancements in telecommunications and laid the groundwork for economic liberalization in the subsequent years.

Atal Bihari Vajpayee

Atal Bihari Vajpayee, a highly respected statesman, served as India’s Prime Minister on three separate occasions. Known for his oratory skills and inclusive approach, Vajpayee played a crucial role in improving India’s foreign relations. His tenure witnessed the successful nuclear tests at Pokhran and marked a significant shift in India’s economic policies with the initiation of the National Highways Development Project.

Manmohan Singh

An economist by profession, Manmohan Singh was India’s Prime Minister from 2004 to 2014. He is credited with ushering in a wave of economic reforms and liberalization. Singh’s tenure witnessed significant growth in sectors such as information technology and services. However, his leadership also faced challenges such as corruption allegations and policy implementation issues.

Narendra Modi

Narendra Modi, the current Prime Minister of India, has left an indelible mark on the nation’s political landscape. Known for his charismatic leadership style, Modi has launched various initiatives, including “Make in India” and “Digital India.” His government has focused on infrastructure development, social welfare programs, and foreign policy. Modi’s leadership has garnered international attention, with India playing a more prominent role on the global stage.

FAQ About Prime Ministers of India

Who is the longest-serving Prime Minister of India?

Jawaharlal Nehru holds the record for being the longest-serving Prime Minister of India. He served as Prime Minister for a total of 17 years, from 1947 until his death in 1964.

Leave a Comment

error: Content is protected !!