List of Gandhi Peace Prize For Years 1995-2017 Winners

What is Gandhi Peace Prize- Gandhi Peace Prize is the international award which is given to those who contribute socially, economically and politically in the same way and using the same methods as Mahatma Gandhi. All non- violence methods are being given respect through this award.

Why named so- This award as name suggests is named after Mahatma Gandhi, our great leader and father of nation.

Significance- This award is given by Government of India to the people who are the followers of Gandhi Ji. This award was launched in the year 1995 which was 125th birth anniversary of Mohandas Gandhi. The award is given regardless of caste, creed, color etc.

Award Constitutes- 1 Crore (10 million) cash which is convertible in any currency in the world.

The following is the list of awardee for Gandhi Peace Prize from the year 1955- 2017.

List of Gandhi Peace Prize Winners

Serial Number Award (Year) Recipient Country Birth-Death/ Establishment Date
1 1995 Julius Nyerere Tanzania 1922–1999
2 1996 A. T. Ariyaratne Sri Lanka B. 1931
3 1997 Gerhard Fischer Germany 1921–2006
4 1998 Ramakrishna Mission India Est. 1897
5 1999 Baba Amte India 1914–2008
6 2000 Nelson Mandela South Africa 1918-2013
7 Grameen Bank Bangladesh Est. 1983
8 2001 John Hume Northern Ireland  B. 1937
9 2002 Bharatiya Vidya Bhavan India Est. 1938
10 2003 Václav Havel Czech Republic 1936–2011
11 2004 Coretta Scott King United States 1927–2006
12 2005 Desmond Tutu South Africa  B. 1931
13 2013 Chandi Prasad Bhatt India B. 1934
14 2014 ISRO India Est 1969

These great personalities have proven that Gandhi Ji is alive today also in the country and his teachings have let the things proceed on better path. These award winners are the rue followers of Mahatma Gandhi and live upon his follow ups in world.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.